2020-11-04
md
About

About Me

As much time as possible is dedicated to activities that I like since my retirement on July 1, 2015. This is an enviable situation for which I am very grateful.

I can be reached by e-mail. Click on the link at the bottom of each post.

About This Site

Computer science has fascinated me for a long time. Among other things, I'm interested in programming and home automation. The pages that are found here are mostly related to these two subjects. To tell the truth, the site is a little luxury, an indulgence that is not without value for me. Writing down the steps followed in any procedure greatly increases the possibility of repeating them later when I will probably have forgotten the details. Similarly, describing an algorithm meticulously, which requires some thought, often yields improvements.

It would be pleasing if others find useful bits in here because then I would in effect be repaying my debt towards those that have kindly helped me in the past and continue to do so by freely sharing information.

Please understand that I am not an expert on the subjects discussed on this site, nor do I claim to be one. Caveat emptor.

About the Appearance of the Posts

Almost all pages follow a common template. From top to bottom the following elements are found.

The results of a search performed with the local search at the top of each page will be displayed in a new tab on the web browser. Links to each page on this site that correspond to the search criteria according to the chosen search engine will be displayed in that tab.

The menu choices are:

  news and recent posts
A list of the most recent posts no matter its subject.
  about
This page.
  downloads
A list of resources, such as programs and scripts, that are available at various locations on the site.
  archives
A complete list of all posts on the site in chronological order.
  version française
Several pages are available in English and French. You can access the translated page with this choice if available.

I use an HTML pre-processor, GTML, to simplify the maintenance of this site and to ensure consistency in the presentation of its Web pages. If your site is composed of static pages, then you may be interested in doing the same.

About Copyright

All the  source code  that I have written and made available on this site is released into the public domain. Apparently, this may cause some problems in some jurisdictions, so in such cases, the following BSD Zero Clause License (SPDX: 0BSD) licence applies.

Copyright (C) 2013 - 2020, Michel Deslierres

Permission to use, copy, modify, and/or distribute this software for any purpose with or without fee is hereby granted.

THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND THE AUTHOR DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES WITH REGARD TO THIS SOFTWARE INCLUDING ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE AUTHOR BE LIABLE FOR ANY SPECIAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OR ANY DAMAGES WHATSOEVER RESULTING FROM LOSS OF USE, DATA OR PROFITS, WHETHER IN AN ACTION OF CONTRACT, NEGLIGENCE OR OTHER TORTIOUS ACTION, ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE USE OR PERFORMANCE OF THIS SOFTWARE.

The "Zero clause BSD is a public domain equivalent license" according to its creator Rob Landley. Contrary to the BSD 2-Clause "Simplified" License which applied previously, neither the copyright notice nor the rest of the 0BSD licence needs to be included with the source code.

By all means, use the code; just don't hold me responsible if a piece of equipment or the cat gets fried as a result. It would be appreciated if you acknowledged my contribution when you use my code, but that is not mandatory. By the same token, it would not be ethical to sell code found on this site, but you can as long as I am the author of the code. Of course, code from others that is referenced on this site remains subject to the licence chosen by the original authors.

All the  text  on this site, which for the most part is delivered as HTML, is released under the standard "all rights reserved" copyright. Canadian copyright law has fair dealing exceptions for the purpose of research, private study, education, criticism or review, new reporting, parody or satire which I wholeheartedly endorse. All this implies that the original portion of text copied be presented as quotations or extracts with attribution. To be honest, if you plagiarize some of the text found on this site, I will not be doing anything about it. It would just be nice that you link to the original post here instead of reproducing it, or, if you do quote text from this site, that correct attribution be included. By "nice" I meant that it would be ethical to acknowledge the source of text copied from this site. At the same time, that acknowledgement would be an appreciated recompense for the work and expense put into making this material available.

About Licence and License

The accepted Canadian and British spelling is "licence," but it would not do to change the spelling when quoting an American source where the term is written as "license". This is why both spellings occur above.

2020-08-09
md
À propos

À propos de moi

À la retraite depuis le 1er juillet 2015, je consacre le plus de mon temps à des activités qui me plaisent. C'est une situation enviable pour laquelle je suis très reconnaissant.

On peut me rejoindre par courriel en activant le lien au bas de chaque billet.

À propos de ce site

L'informatique me fascine depuis longtemps. Entre autres, je m'intéresse à la programmation et à la domotique. La plupart des billets que l'on retrouve ici sont reliés à ces deux sujets. À vrai dire, le site est un petit luxe, une indulgence qui n'est toutefois pas dépourvu d'intérêt en ce qui me concerne. En notant par écrit les étapes d'une démarche quelconque, j'augmente de façon appréciable la possibilité de répéter les gestes plus tard alors que j'aurais probablement oublié les détails. De même, en décrivant minutieusement un algorithme, cela m'amène à y réfléchir et souvent me permet de l'améliorer.

Il serait agréable si d'autres trouvent des éléments utiles ici, car alors je rembourserais en partie ma dette envers ceux qui m'ont aidé dans le passé et continuent de le faire en partageant librement leurs connaissances.

Je ne revendique aucune expertise à propos des sujets abordés dans les nombreuses pages du site. Caveat emptor.

À propos de la présentation des pages

Presque toutes les pages ont un gabarit commun dont voici les éléments.

Les résultats d'une recherche faite à partir de l'outil qu'on trouve au début de chaque page sont consignés dans un nouvel onglet. Les liens vers chaque page du présent site qui correspond aux critères de recherche selon l'outil de recherche sollicité y seront affichés.

Les choix du menu sont :

  nouvelles et billets récents
Une liste des billets des douze derniers mois.
  à propos
Cette page.
  téléchargements
Une liste des ressources, tels programmes et scripts, qui sont disponibles à divers endroits sur le site.
  archives
Une liste complète de toutes les pages du site en ordre chronologique.
  version anglaise
Plusieurs pages sont disponibles en anglais et en français. On accède à la page traduite avec ce choix le cas échéant.

J'utilise un préprocesseur HTML, GTML, pour faciliter l'entretien de ce site et en assurer la constance dans la présentation des pages Web. Si votre site est constitué de pages statiques, il pourrait être intéressant d'en faire autant.

À propos des droits d'auteur

Tout le  code source  que j'ai écrit et publié sur ce site est placé dans le domaine public. Apparemment, cela peut causer des problèmes dans certaines juridictions et, le cas échéant, la licence BSD Zero Clause (SPDX: 0BSD) s'applique.

Copyright (C) 2013 - 2020, Michel Deslierres

L'autorisation d'utiliser, de copier, de modifier ou de distribuer ce logiciel qu'importe à quelle fin, avec ou sans frais, est accordée par la présente.

LE LOGICIEL EST FOURNI "EN L'ÉTAT" ET L'AUTEUR DÉCLINE TOUTES LES GARANTIES À L'ÉGARD DE CE LOGICIEL, Y COMPRIS TOUTES LES GARANTIES IMPLICITES DE QUALITÉ MARCHANDE ET D'ADÉQUATION. EN AUCUN CAS, L'AUTEUR NE SAURAIT ÊTRE TENU RESPONSABLE DE TOUT DOMMAGE SPÉCIAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT OU CONSÉCUTIF OU DE TOUT DOMMAGE QUELCONQUE RÉSULTANT DE LA PERTE D'UTILISATION, DES DONNÉES OU DE BÉNÉFICES, QUE CE SOIT DANS LE CADRE D'UNE ACTION CONTRACTUELLE, D'UNE NÉGLIGENCE OU D'UNE AUTRE ACTION DÉLICTUELLE, RÉSULTANT DE OU EN LIEN AVEC L'UTILISATION OU LES PERFORMANCES DE CE LOGICIEL.

La «[BSD Zero Clause] est une licence équivalente du domaine public» selon son créateur Rob Landley. Contrairement à la licence «simplifiée» à 2 clauses BSD qui s'appliquait auparavant, il n'y a pas d'obligation d'inclure la notice des droits d'auteur, ni le reste de la licence 0BSD, avec le code source.

Je vous en prie, utilisez le code comme bon vous semble à la condition de ne pas me tenir responsable si une pièce d'équipement ou le chat est carbonisé en conséquence. Il serait apprécié que vous reconnaissiez ma contribution lorsque vous utilisez mon code, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire. De même, il ne serait pas éthique de vendre un code trouvé sur ce site, mais vous pouvez le faire tant que je suis l'auteur du code. Bien entendu, le code des autres référencé sur ce site reste soumis à la licence choisie par les auteurs originaux.

Tout le  texte  sur ce site, qui est principalement livré sous forme de pages HTML, est publié avec « tous droits réservés ». La loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur prévoit des exceptions d'utilisation équitable à des fins de recherche, d'étude privée, d'éducation, de critique ou de compte rendu, de communication de nouvelles, de parodie ou de satire dont j'approuve sans réserve. Tout cela implique que toute copie d'une partie d'un texte soit présentée sous forme de citation ou d'extrait avec attribution. En pratique, je n'ai pas l'intention de faire quoi que ce soit si une partie du texte trouvé sur ce site est plagiée. Je préféreais que vous établissiez un hyperlien vers le texte original sur ce site au lieu de le reproduire, ou, si vous citez le texte de ce site, que l'attribution correcte soit incluse. Il me semble éthique de reconnaître la source du texte copié. En même temps, cette reconnaissance constituerait une récompense appréciée pour le travail et les dépenses consacrés à la mise à disposition de ce matériel.