March 14th, 2017

Lately, I noticed that DefaultTranslator cannot be used in console applications. The SetDefaultLang found in LCLTranslator, which is used to switch between translation files pulls in the entire LCL package. It turns out that SetDefaultLang wants to translate all of the forms in the project. Of course there are no forms in a console application, but the function does not know that.

So I decided to rip out the form updating code in LCLTranslator and to save that modified version in a unit called UnitTranslator. This new unit requires LCLBase package instead of the full LCL package.

Anomalous Behaviour of SetDefaultLang in LCLTranslator

If one wanted to manually select a French translation adapted to Belgium of an application (called app) then it should be sufficient to call SetDefaultLang('fr_BE', ''). The function will search for a corresponding .po or .mo file in all the "usual places". This means looking for the file

If such a file is not found then it will look for a compiled .mo file in the same places. Assuming nothing has been found, then the locale will be reduced to the language ('fr' in this case) and the search will be repeated:

This behaviour makes sense, if a translation into the territorial variation of a language is not available, then might as well use a generic translation in that language. So far so good. But things can go awry.

Usually, the unit DefaultTranslator is added to applications that are supplied with translation files. It consists of the call SetDefaultLang('', '') in its initialization. When no language is specified, SetDefaultLang tries to find the system language and then performs the search described above. It looks to the environment variables 'LANG', 'LC_ALL' and 'LC_MESSAGES' in that order. On my system, the locale is 'fr_CA.UTF-8' which is a language (fr for French), a region (CA for Canada) and a Unicode encoding (UTF-8).

So what happens is that a search for the following files is conducted:

which yields nothing and then the locale is reduced to 'fr' and the search is repeated: The function never searches for 'fr_CA' which I think is not the intended behaviour.

In UnitTranslator, which is my version of the code, I decided to create a function GetLang(const Lang: string): string which queries environment variables as in the original code but it adds a test at the end to handle locales such as found on my system.

if (length(Result) > 5) and (Result[3] = '_') then setlength(Result, 5);

The reason for testing for the '_' is that my Ubuntu system, the /usr/share/locale directory contains locales such as 'be@latin' which should not be amputated to 5 characters.

Since I was rewriting the code for FindLocaleFileName function, I also decided to test for the existence of the 'locale' and 'languages' sub directories before running a search for .po an .mo files. There is no point in looking for files in non-existent directories.

I also decided to combine, as it were, DefaultTranslator with UnitTranslator by including a call to SetDefaultLang('', '') in the later unit's initialization code.

The unit can be found here. I am not too sure about the niceties of the copyright involved here. If I had written this unit without looking at the code from V.I. Volchencko et al, I would have used a BDS two or three clause type of copyright. As far as I am concerned, anyone can use the code in any ethical way.

The Correct Environment Variable

Looking at my environment and locale variables, I see that 'LANGUAGE' might have been a better choice:

michel@hp:~$ printenv ... LANG=fr_CA.UTF-8 GDM_LANG=fr_CA ... LANGUAGE=fr_CA:fr ... michel@hp:~$ locale LANG=fr_CA.UTF-8 LANGUAGE=fr_CA:fr LC_CTYPE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_NUMERIC="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_TIME="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_COLLATE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MONETARY="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MESSAGES="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_PAPER="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_NAME="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_ADDRESS="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_TELEPHONE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MEASUREMENT="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_IDENTIFICATION="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_ALL=

This is more or less confirmed by Rémi's answer (edited by Édouard Lopez) to a query to SuperUser. It looks like the user could have something like 'LANGUAGE= fr:de:en' which would mean that messages should be set to "French message where they exists, if not it will use German messages, and will fallback to English one if there isn't German nor French messages."

Trouble is, I do not know how standard this is. The query was about Debian systems. What about other Linux distributions? The man page about Locale(7) does not mention 'LANGUAGE'. The man page about gettext(3) says that it is a 'Gnu extension':

If the LANGUAGE environment variable is set to a nonempty value, and the locale is not the "C" locale, the value of LANGUAGE is assumed to contain a colon separated list of locale names. The functions will attempt to look up a translation of msgid in each of the locales in turn. This is a GNU extension.

Perhaps the correct approach is to assume that there should be a list of locales to search. The LANGUAGE variable should be the first looked at in establishing that list. If it is not present, then the other environment variables should be looked at.

If only things were that simple. The LC_ALL variable, if defined, is a global override. If I understand all this information correctly, the following values

LANG="en_GB"
LC_MESSAGES="fr_CA.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT=
LC_ALL=
mean that 'en_GB' is to use for LC_MEASUREMENT, while 'fr_CA.UTF-8' for messages. However, if 'LC_ALL' had been
LC_ALL="de"
the 'de' should be used for 'LC_MEASUREMENT' and 'LC_MESSAGES'. But does this override apply to 'LANGUAGES'?

And while on the subject of the 'LC_ALL' override, I noticed that it is the first environment variable looked at in the GetLanguageIDs of gettext and then 'LC_MESSAGES' is considered and finally 'LANG'. All this is correct as far as I know. But in LCLTranslator the environment variable 'LANG' is checked before calling LazGetLanguageIDs which in turn calls GetLanguageIDs. That would mean that the 'LC_ALL' override would be ignored! There is a comment in the code that this has something to do with Windows.

My head hurts.

2017-03-14

Il s'avère que DefaultTranslator ne peut pas être utilisé dans les applications de type console. La fonction SetDefaultLang, de l'unité LCLTranslator, qui est utilisée pour basculer entre les fichiers de traduction tire le paquet LCL entier. Or SetDefaultLang veut traduire toutes les fiches du projet. Bien sûr il n'y a pas de fiches dans une application console, mais la fonction ne le sait pas.

J'ai donc décidé de retirer la traduction des fiches du code dans LCLTranslator et d'enregistrer cette version modifiée dans une unité appelée UnitTranslator. Cette nouvelle unité nécessite le paquet LCLBase au lieu du paquet LCL complet.

Comportement douteux de SetDefaultLang dans LCLTranslator

Si l'on veut sélectionner manuellement une traduction française adaptée à la Belgique d'une application (appelée app) alors, il devrait suffire d'appeler SetDefaultLang('fr_BE',''). La fonction recherchera un fichier .po ou .mo correspondant dans tous les "lieux habituels". Cela signifie que les fichiers suivants sont recherchés :

Si un tel fichier n'est pas trouvé, un fichier .mo compilé est recherché dans les mêmes endroits. Si aucun fichier .po ou .mo n'a été trouvé, la localisation sera réduite à la langue ('fr' dans ce cas) et la recherche sera répétée:

C'est logique: si une traduction vers une variation territoriale d'une langue n'est pas disponible, alors aussi bien utiliser une traduction générique dans cette langue. Jusqu'ici tout va bien. Mais les choses peuvent aller mal.

Habituellement, l'unité DefaultTranslator est ajoutée aux applications qui sont fournies avec des fichiers de traduction. Elle se résume à l'appel SetDefaultLang('','') dans son initialisation. Lorsqu'aucune langue n'est spécifiée, SetDefaultLang essaie de trouver la langue du système, puis effectue la recherche décrite ci-dessus. Dans Linux, cette fonction examine les variables d'environnement 'LANG', 'LC_ALL' et 'LC_MESSAGES' dans cet ordre. Sur mon système, 'LANG' contient «fr_CA.UTF-8», qui est une langue (fr pour le français), une région (CA pour le Canada) et un codage Unicode (UTF-8).

Donc ce qui se passe, c'est qu'une recherche pour les fichiers suivants est menée:

Qui ne produit rien et alors la localisation est réduite à 'fr' et la recherche se répète : La fonction ne recherche jamais 'fr_CA'. Je pense que ce n'est pas le comportement prévu.

Dans UnitTranslator, qui est ma version du code, j'ai décidé de créer une fonction GetLang(const Lang: string): string qui interroge les variables d'environnement comme dans le code d'origine, mais qui, à la fin, ajoute un test pour gérer les paramètres régionaux tels que trouvés sur mon système.

if (length(Result) > 5) and (Result[3] = '_') then setlength(Result, 5);

La raison du test pour le '_' est que le répertoire /usr/share/locale de mon system Ubuntu contient des sous répertoires tels que 'be@latin' dont les noms ne doivent pas être amputés à 5 caractères.

Puisque je réécrivais le code pour la fonction FindLocaleFileName, j'ai également décidé de tester l'existence des sous-répertoires 'locale' et 'languages' avant d'exécuter une recherche de fichiers .po et .mo. Il est inutile de rechercher des fichiers dans des répertoires non existants.

Enfin, j'ai incorporé DefaultTranslator dans UnitTranslator en incluant un appel à SetDefaultLang('','') dans le code d'initialisation de cette dernière unité.

L'unité peut être trouvée ici. Je suis incertain quant aux droits d'auteur impliqués ici. Si j'avais écrit cette unité sans regarder le code de V.I. Volchencko et al, j'aurais utilisé une licence de type BDS à deux ou trois clauses. En ce qui me concerne, n'importe qui peut utiliser le code de façon éthique.

La bonne variable d'environnement

En examinant l'environnement de mon système Ubuntu, il me semble que la variable 'LANGUAGE' aurait peut-être été un meilleur choix.

michel@hp:~$ printenv ... LANG=fr_CA.UTF-8 GDM_LANG=fr_CA ... LANGUAGE=fr_CA:fr ... michel@hp:~$ locale LANG=fr_CA.UTF-8 LANGUAGE=fr_CA:fr LC_CTYPE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_NUMERIC="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_TIME="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_COLLATE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MONETARY="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MESSAGES="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_PAPER="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_NAME="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_ADDRESS="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_TELEPHONE="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_MEASUREMENT="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_IDENTIFICATION="fr_CA.UTF-8" LC_ALL=

Ceci est plus ou moins confirmé par la réponse de Rémi (modifiée par Édouard Lopez) à une question posée sur SuperUser. Il semble que l'utilisateur pourrait avoir quelque chose comme «LANGUAGE=fr:de:en» ce qui signifie que les messages doivent être en «français s'ils existent, sinon en allemand , et qu'ils passeront à l'anglais si un message français ou allemand ne se trouve pas».

Le hic est que je ne sais pas si c'est universel. La question portait sur les systèmes Debian. Qu'en est-il des autres distributions Linux ? La page man de Locale (7) ne mentionne pas 'LANGUAGE'. La page man sur gettext (3) indique qu'il s'agit d'une 'extension Gnu':

If the LANGUAGE environment variable is set to a nonempty value, and the locale is not the "C" locale, the value of LANGUAGE is assumed to contain a colon separated list of locale names. The functions will attempt to look up a translation of msgid in each of the locales in turn. This is a GNU extension.

Peut-être l'approche correcte est de supposer qu'il devrait y avoir une liste de langues à rechercher. La variable LANGUAGE doit être la première à être examinée pour établir cette liste. Si elle n'est pas présente, les autres variables d'environnement doivent être examinées.

Si seulement les choses étaient aussi simples. La variable 'LC_ALL', si elle est définie, a primauté sur les autres alors que 'LANG' est la valeur par défaut quand une autre n'est pas définie. Si je comprends bien toutes ces informations, les valeurs suivantes

LANG="en_GB"
LC_MESSAGES="fr_CA.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT=
LC_ALL=
veulent dire que 'en_GB' est utilisée pour LC_MEASUREMENT, alors que les messages utilisent 'fr_CA.UTF-8'. Par contre si 'LC_ALL' avait été
LC_ALL="de"
alors 'de' doit utilisé pour 'LC_MEASUREMENT' et 'LC_MESSAGES'. Mais est-ce que cette primauté s'applique à 'LANGUAGES' ?

Puisque le sujet de la préséance de 'LC_ALL' est abordé, j'enchaîne en notant que la première variable d'environnement examinée dans GetLanguageIDs de gettext et puis 'LC_MESSAGES' est considéré et enfin 'LANG'. Tout cela est correct à ma connaissance. Mais dans LCLTranslator, la variable d'environnement 'LANG' est vérifiée avant d'appeler LazGetLanguageIDs qui à son tour appelle GetLanguageIDs. Cela signifierait que 'LC_ALL' serait ignoré! Il y a un commentaire dans le code que cela a quelque chose à faire avec Windows.

J'ai mal à la tête.