July 13th, 2016
Update: March 13th, 2017

The pdf file Parsing and Evaluating Mathematical Expression in Object Pascal contains a description of the source code for the one pass mathematical expression parser written for Free Pascal. As with the Delphi version, the parser in a sequence of four increasingly more complex set of units. While there is no important change to the original parser written for Delphi, the Free Pascal code contains some innovations and is hopefully better. By the same token, I hope the documentation will be better. The original parser and its documentation remain available.

The source code is available in four increasingly complex versions of the parser:

  1. Parsing a Simplified Grammar
  2. More Mathematical Operations and Comments
  3. Adding Constants, Functions and Variables
  4. Extended National Language Support

Finally, the units making up the one pass parser are consolidated into a package (simpleparser_package.zip) suitable for integration into the Lazarus IDE. Note that this is a runtime package only, no components are installed in the IDE's palette.

Update

Running the tcalc demonstration program, I noticed that it displayed a Gtk warning:

michel@hp:~/Documents/Lazarus/simpleparser/tcalc$ ./tcalc (tcalc:4751): Gtk-WARNING **: Impossible de trouver le moteur de thème dans module_path : « pixmap » Utilisation : tcalc [(--LANG|-l) ln] ( -? identificateur | --Help | "expression" )"

That seemed strange as tcalc is a console application, which does not use a graphic library such as Gtk. Furthermore, that warning did not appear in the previous version of tcalc.

The problem was easy enough to identify because the most significant change in the latest version is the addition of national language support. Implicitly SetDefaultLang found in LCLTranslator (used in DefaultTranslator) switches between translation files at program startup. It turns out that the Interfaces unit is needed and it pulls in the entire LCL package. Without Interfaces the code does not compile. And with it, it will not compile using the LCLBase package instead of the LCL package. Turns out that SetDefaultLang wants to translate all of the forms in the project. There are none in tcalc but the unit does not know that.

So I decided to rip out the form updating code and to save that modified version in a unit called UnitTranslator. It does not require Interfaces and the LCL can be replaced with the LCLBase package. I have explained in more details the changes made. If you are interested, go here.

While at it, I cleaned up the archives, removing some unnecessary files. Aside from the above changes to tcalc there is no substantive change in the downloadable archives.

2016-07-13
Mise à jour : 2017-03-13

Le fichier pdf intitulé Parsing and Evaluating Mathematical Expression in Object Pascal contient une description du code d'un analyseur syntaxique des expressions mathématiques écrit dans le dialecte Free Pascal du Pascal object. Comme dans la version pour Delphi, l'analyseur est présenté en quatre ensembles d'unités de plus en plus complexes. Il n'y a pas de modification importante de l'analyseur initialement écrit avec le dialecte Delphi. Mais la version du code élaboré avec Free Pascal contient des ajouts et est quelques améliorations, du moins je l'espère. J'espère aussi que la documentation est meilleure. Malheureusement elle ne demeure disponible qu'en anglais. L'analyseur original ainsi que la documentation sont encore disponibles.

Les fichiers source des quatre versions de plus en plus complexes de l'analyseur sont :

  1. Parsing a Simplified Grammar
  2. More Mathematical Operations and Comments
  3. Adding Constants, Functions and Variables
  4. Extended National Language Support

Enfin, l'archive simpleparser_package.zip est un paquet contenant les unités formant l'analyseur et pouvant être intégré à l'EDI Lazarus. Notons qu'il ne contient pas de composant à être installé dans la palette de l'EDI.

Mise à jour

En exécutant le programme de démonstration tcalc, j'ai remarqué qu'il a affiché un avertissement :

michel@hp:~/Documents/Lazarus/simpleparser/tcalc$ ./tcalc (tcalc:4751): Gtk-WARNING **: Impossible de trouver le moteur de thème dans module_path : « pixmap » Utilisation : tcalc [(--LANG|-l) ln] ( -? identificateur | --Help | "expression" )"

Voilà qui était bizarre, car tcalc est une application console, qui n'utilise pas une bibliothèque graphique comme Gtk. De plus, cet avertissement ne figure pas dans la version précédente de tcalc.

Le problème a été assez facile à identifier parce que le changement le plus significatif dans la dernière version est l'ajout du support linguistique. Implicitement SetDefaultLang trouvé dans LCLTranslator (utilisé dans DefaultTranslator) sélectionne le fichier de traduction au démarrage du programme. Il s'avère que l'unité Interfaces est nécessaire et il tire le LCL paquet entier. Sans Interfaces le code ne compile pas. Et avec cette unité, il ne compile pas en utilisant le paquet LCLBase au lieu du paquet LCL. Il s'avère que SetDefaultLang veut traduire tous les fiches du projet. Il n'y en a pas dans tcalc mais l'unité ne le sait pas.

J'ai donc décidé d'éliminer le code de traduction des fiches et d'enregistrer cette version modifiée dans une unité appelée UnitTranslator. Il ne nécessite pas l'unité Interfaces et le paquet LCL peut être remplacé par le paquet LCLBase . J'ai expliqué plus en détail les changements apportés. Si vous êtes intéressé, allez ici.

Tant qu'à y être, j'ai nettoyé les archives, en supprimant certains fichiers inutiles. Mis à part les changements ci-dessus à tcalc il n'y a pas de changement substantiel dans les archives téléchargeables.